Watch out for talking dogs in a snow storm

WwNKDXkI have been up since three am shaking the trees. I set my alarm based on the forecast and when it went off I turned on the outside light hoping against the odds that it wouldn’t be true, but it was.

Big, wet flakes were pouring from the night sky. I wanted to be frantic, after all what kind of a world do I live in where it snows on my gorgeous purple Foxglove – testing their spines for endurance, or the giant peony beginning to splay over, what about the hosta and don’t even talk to me about the brand new Japanese Maple with its fragile new leaves. I was off to the races.

What a cruel, cruel world. And there I was, out in it. Wet, heavy snow demanding that everything bend to its ruling. Headlight over the top of my hat, donned in a sweater and rain coat, the poor choice of snow boots when rain boots were for the job. Forget about gloves, my fingers are now worthless. Get the picture. This is still going on at 10 am, out every hour shaking off the threat.

It is not so much that it is snowing, it never lasts long here and it is pretty. It is more that it is not what I thought would happen and even knowing that it might happen, I didn’t really know what I could do about it. I felt helpless against the odds.

There is an ABUNDANCE of that out there right now: helpless against the odds. You don’t need me telling you that. We all know, and we are all tired of the reminder that there is no control. I got the memo, you got the memo, but still it bears reminders.  I can control nothing. I never could and I never will. It is impossible. Physics won’t allow for it. NO CONTROL, only influence.

The good thing about influence is that it is more powerful then control because it endures. Those staked garbage bags over my Foxglove? They are working with me to keep those stunning flowers healthy, and I am working with them by shaking off the snow they are keeping out so together we can keep on protecting my flowers. I, in collaboration with those bags, the snow, and the foxglove, am influencing a different outcome.

The opposition between Venus and Jupiter is big. There is good potential for magnifying the importance of things, letting things get blown out of proportion. If needed, re-read the first paragraph. Be mindful to that which you set an alarm. You don’t have to be alarmed and you don’t have to make it alarming. Do what you want. Create the life you want to live.

Pluto in Capricorn is squaring the opposition between Venus and Jupiter. This can likely incite the manipulative tactic of he said, she said, the dog said. This kind of communication is fraught with hostility, aggression and, I am sad to say – meant to harm.

Be mindful. Stay grounded. Remember what you want. Act in your best interest. See what happens that you like and can build on. Me? I am looking forward to seeing those wonderful Foxglove after the snow.


In the midst of what you see as problematic, it can be difficult to recognize the opportunities. I can help you discover a new way of thinking that will assist you in managing and negotiating life’s obstacles. You will find that this new way of thinking provides you opportunities that you hadn’t previously noticed as well as affords you the confidence and desire to live your life in the driver’s seat.

Tami Satterfield, MSW, LCSW-C, NBCCH, HTP is a licensed psychotherapist who practices solution-oriented healing from a deep ecological perspective. Her specialities include hypnosis for anxiety, performance, and creativity. Sessions on-line or in Boulder, Colorado include cutting edge brain therapies that will change the way you think. Learn more at attentiontoliving.com

Leave a Reply

