Flying high down the rabbit hole.

60b1e524_shamanic_drumming_small
The work ahead is to heal the divide without becoming divided, and the transverse is giving us more then just two ways to do that. The Moon in Pisces, conjunct Neptune could have you feeling disappointed or confused. Saturn in Sagittarius does its best to provide another way to think about things, but Mars in Aquarius objects, and is determined to protest and beat on a whole other drum.

I have been missing in action for a little bit. I went out to mend fences a few weeks ago and got caught up in a deep conversation about areodynamics with the dead. Today, I am making my way out of the rabbit hole. On landing, I see that things are the same and I see that they are different. I think my recent conversation may be helpful.

Life is composed of two seemingly opposed energies. We are taught to live life within the boundaries of these polarities. Am I right? Or am I wrong? What do you think? But it doesn’t matter what you think. What matters, is what you know.

Knowing, like “seeing,” is an intelligence that is acquired when the mind and the body communicate with each other and then with the rest of the transverse. So what do you notice that you know, what do you see? Do you notice a certain emotional experience around an intellectual inquiry? On my recent journey, I noticed that I was afraid to ask the very question I had set out to answer. I felt the fear in a tightening through my chest and the shortness of my breath. “Don’t ask unless you listen,” I was told. Hmm, I thought I could do it, but when it really came time, I knew I wasn’t ready. I could feel the weight of it. I was afraid to say what I wondered out loud.  I was afraid to make it a real query and not just an idea in my head. I knew that saying aloud would release it from the fantasy that I could control it’s outcome, it’s truth. I knew my expression of it would make it real.

I was afraid to listen. I was afraid to hear. I didn’t want to see what the future might hold. I hesitated to move forward. Fear attracts danger and I saw all the possible bad ways this could work out. And then I was told, “If you want to understand, you will have to look into it.” And I heard the words and knew that my quest could never be contained in the boundaries of some intellectual pursuit. What a drag. An idea is fine, but it would take more then musing to make it valuable. The last messenger, impatient or perhaps enthusiastic, shouted at me, “Get out of here, go! Go, go, go!”

Thrusted forward, back into the evolutionary game, up the rabbit hole and out of there. Back here, where Donald Trump is president and the weather in Boulder Colorado is sunny and some men are making a very dusty mess in my house, and Charlie our cat still has no teeth. See what I mean, some things are different and some things are the same.

1. It is not what you think that matters, it is what you know. 
2. Don’t ask, unless you listen. 
3. If you want to understand, you will have to look into it. 
4. Go forward in service of what really matters to you. 

Begin now. Embrace your human-ness while striving for the Divine. This will give you lift. It is not what you think that matters, it is what you know. It may be necessary to see what you think, and then see what you feel, and then see everything in between. If you want to know the answer to the question, you will have to listen to all the information. This will ground you. Sometimes, when things are complex, it is a drag. But that drag serves purpose, it creates a necessity to accept one thing while embracing another. The trajectory forward is found through the resistance of the two opposed energies. In this way, things aren’t always what they seem to be, and in that case, there is always room for things to be different.

Go into the rabbit hole. Travel into the strange trip of your life and be birthed again in the wisdom of greater knowing. Now see what you want to do about it.


In the midst of what you see as problematic, it can be difficult to recognize the opportunities. I can help you discover a new way of thinking that will assist you in managing and negotiating life’s obstacles. You will find that this new way of thinking provides you opportunities that you hadn’t previously noticed as well as affords you the confidence and desire to live your life in the driver’s seat.

Tami Satterfield, MSW, LCSW-C, NBCCH, HTP is a licensed psychotherapist who practices solution-oriented healing from a deep ecological perspective. Her specialities include hypnosis for anxiety, performance, and creativity. Sessions on-line or in Boulder, Colorado include cutting edge brain therapies that will change the way you think. Learn more at attentiontoliving.com

3 comments
  1. Lovely post oozing eloquently constructed; timeless wisdom, great work, much appreacited share, thank you, regards, Barry

  2. Forgot to say; beautiful, highly evocative and thought provoking image too, thank you for sharing, regards, Barry

Leave a Reply

