Wherever I go, there I am.

big turtle

I am beginning my shift from 20.6275° N, 87.0811° W to  40.0274° N, 105.2519° W.  I will be headed home soon.  The truth is, though, I have been shifting since I arrived.  Shifting from the greater alertness of the hyper-reality of my life at 40.0274° N, 105.2519° W to the more comfortable awareness of the reality of my life at 20.6275° N, 87.0811° W.  It is my life anywhere I go.  Only sometimes I choose, whether consciously or unconsciously, to live within the constructs of time, and sometimes I choose to live without the constructs of time.

It is my life wherever I go.  It is my life wherever I am.

When I can understand the privilege in that, I can appreciate the even greater truth that I have been shifting all my life. Wherever I go, there I am.  So when a tag that seemingly never previously existed inside my bathing suit is currently determined to announce itself like a pre-recorded telemarketing call, it disrupts my peace. It awakens me from my blissful dream of turquoise waters filled with giant sea turtles.  My monkey mind drags me off the beach and into a hyper-reality of distraction where I arrive (willingly) irritated, angry really,  at the threat created by nuisance.

Wherever I go, there I am.

But if I am lucky (mindful), I will remember an agreement made long ago between me and the tag.  “I will lay low and when you least expect it. I will poke you to distraction.”  Ahh, yes.  I remember.  Together we can create an entire hyper-reality of irritation, anger, and disappointment.  Yes, I do remember that, and I am grateful for the reminder as it is serviceable to me.  It is my life.  Wherever I go, there I am.  The truth is, I am always shifting.  The truth is, I am always home.  I turn to my husband, “Does your pocket knife have a little set of nail scissors in it?”

Would you like to learn to shift from one moment to the next with greater ease?  Would you like to learn how to enjoy the truth of your life with greater depth?  Schedule an on-line session with Tami Boehle-Satterfield at attentiontoliving.com or work in person with her in her healing studio in Boulder, Colorado.

Leave a Reply

