Spinach In Your Teeth: September 8, 2015

10edfd772a43576eb1ee50e95d03e024
Back to work! This is a short week, but it might feel mighty long. You may notice a bump up in judgment out there. People pointing their fingers, doing their best waggle to get control. Do your best to see the opportunity in the self-absorbed judge.

1. Check your look in the mirror. How much might you look just like them, without even a moment’s realization? They might be reflecting back to you some helpful information. No one wants to walk around with a piece of spinach in their teeth.

2. See it for what it is. I was waiting in a long line for fuel at the airport this morning. I know, right? The airport gas station the day after a long holiday! Well, I needed diesel fuel and only 4 of the 20 pumps were diesel. To make matters worse, they were all full and many were one to two cars deep waiting. It was a mess. I was waiting at the outside pump and the person before me had some how managed to enter the pump facing the opposite direction of the natural flow. I imagine his tank was on the left side of the car instead of the right. This caused me a great deal of distress, because I felt I needed to leave a bigger gap between our cars for his exit. This caused me to stick out into the flow of traffic in a way that occasionally provided me with disgusted looks, as folks had to make their way around my car. Even one of these looks was too many! I wanted to get out of my car and explain. And then I wanted to shout from my car window the likes of, “Yea, well why don’t you mind your own business!” Eventually another pump opened and by a great grace, the lines had dwindled enough to make it easy to move on over. So, I was in the way. I didn’t mean to be. I knew I was, but it seemed the only solution to my problem of needing diesel fuel. The good news is it prompted a vigil eye for another opportunity and allowed me to get out of the hot seat without inciting a scene.

Mind the judgment of yourself and others as it often only leads to drama – in your head and on the street. Utilize the false ideas around judgment and control for your own well-being. Past the opportunities judgment and control may inadvertently provide, let them go. Nothing worthwhile will come from them. It rarely does.

Learn to change the way you think at attentiontoliving.com

Leave a Reply

