The Honest Work Of Minding Creatures by Tami Boehle-Satterfield

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Minding creatures keeps me honest.
Though,
Some days,
I’d like to steal the time of mucking stalls,
Especially on cold, dark days.

Head burdened,
At first,
Bothered, like a stubborn ass.
Then, fleeced and gloved
I am slipping into boots.

Out the door, winter wakes me
From my self-inflicted life.
My hyper-reality
Lost
To a deep black sea of stars.

I breath in the sharp, steel-blue night air.
Pure,
Filtered of all my ideals,
Leaving me with just myself.
Exposed,

I am nothing more
Than everything before me.
The jangle of a rusted chain and clip,
The creak of a farm gate,
A mechanical wave, an oscillation of pressure

Stumbling in the dark.
I am a ghost in a clumsy, noisy machine
Headed,
Almost drunk with desire,
Longingly pulled

To the deep,
Hoarse, breathy sound
Drawing out into a long moan.
See-sawing like an old rocking chair.
HA-AHH-EEEEE-AWWWWWWWWW, HA-AHH-EEEEE-AWWWWWWWWW.

But, before my large muscles group,
Pitching in,
The rhythm
Of shoveling soft, earthy, black turds,
And then pitching out mouth-fulls of sweet-smelling honey colored hay.

Before I become
Myself again,
Illuminated in the yellowed barn light,
Shoveling and pitching
Remembered judgements.

I lean in, breathe in her dark, clay scent.
Feel the rough texture of coarse hair on sturdy, tall ears.
Steal a smooch of her baby-soft, warm snout.
I blindly finger her curious black lips, transliterating
Her whispered secrets

Wise beyond any language
I know.
I am the jack ass seeking pardon.
My devotion as self-reconciliation,
Stroking the long soft fur at her compliant breast.

Leave a Reply

