“Big Toe Stuck” by Tami Boehle-Satterfield

toe in water
Big toe stuck in the water.

“Stick your toe in,” now stuck.
Paralyzed.

One foot in and one foot out.
Out of balance,

Fearful that I shall fall –
Fail.

Slip under and drown.
Faced with the murky possibilities of
Unknown muddied waters.

Neck, hips and knee
Painfully holding on
To the moment just before
I let go.

B e c om i n g a statue,
I am
Marmoreal.
A mere imitation of myself,
Naked for all to see in a museum of highly polished possibilities.

I am b e c o m i n g very hard and cold,
Eyes, wide discs dilated,
Stone of expression.
Unresponsive in my angle of repose.
A great monument for a moment.

Then,
Questioning –
“Who’s hands are at the rims of the pupils,
Waving frantically,
Screaming from loud, black holes,
Sounding all the world?”
But me? Stone deaf to the call.

Until,
I notice.
Sensate.
Somewhere off center,
Deep and tucked-in,
The cerebellum hums.
I B l i n k!

Dorsal nexus lights,
Thinking runs,
Feeling rolls.
Breathing in deep,
I
AM
pp iiii nnnnn gggggg kkkkkkk dddddaah
PINK! as a new born.

The water is cold.
Knee bends to the ball of my foot.
Body leans into the surrender.
Metatarsals grip and lift.
Arms, lovingly
Prepare for flight.
B e s i d e me,
Then,
Up
Over my head,
Graceful, like an ancient bird,
Leading the way.
Knee bows to the vertebrate,
Ball springs,
Up
And big toe is the last one in.

UNSTUCK!

September 2013

Leave a Reply

