“In The Flow Of The River” by Tami Boehle-Satterfield

metolius_river_pine_lg

Dare I ask,
May I live?
N o.

C a n
I
l i v e ?

In the space
Sheltered,
Between rocks?

Or at the soft, fuzzy place
Where the edge of darkness
B l e e d s light?

Between my childish
Anticipation of
And the expectation for?

Can I bear the desire,
The longing
For what I imagine I need?

Dare I say
No?
NO!

I am not a lover
Worshiping
the romance in suffering,

Stuck in moments,
Like traffic
Going nowhere.

I am l i v i n g
In the fluid, watery space
Between two green banks.

Leave a Reply

