Ode to Knowing by Tami Boehle-Satterfield

"Each paradox is understood only from its own level of perception" by T. Boehle oil on panel 2012

“Each paradox is understood only from its own level of perception” by T. Boehle oil on panel 2012

I dreamed of a tortoise as big as a car swimming in turquoise waters and with great excitement I called, “Hurry come see!” I felt the anticipation of other’s joy at witnessing such splendor.  The steady work of gracefully gliding through glass waters.  I watched from a bank of windows on a boat that rocked and rolled, bowing in your greatness.  And then, it seemed that I was disconnected from joy when you passed behind the only wall stationed between the windows.  I felt lost and disoriented.  Not making sense of where you’d gone.  And like a child learning that a toy train rounding the tracks isn’t gone when it travels through the tunnel, but only out of site.  Relieved and restored, I may have clapped my hands and stood reaching on tip toes when I saw you come from behind the blind. You are still here even when I can’t see you.

1 comment
  1. and despairingly enslaved in a tank, forever trapped and imprisoned.

Leave a Reply

