For Me On My 50th Birthday by Tami Boehle-Satterfield

"Not only was it realized that matter could exist in unknown forms, but the quantum field basis of the strong reaction was confirmed" oil on canvas T. Boehle 2012

"Not only was it realized that matter could exist in unknown forms, but the quantum field basis of the strong reaction was confirmed" oil on canvas T. Boehle 2012

What does anyone think when the sun dials around

And the moon rises up over the earth like a child’s toy?

Riding on a bus, or sitting at the hearth,

Are the thoughts the same?

Are they all of passing time and melancholy?

I remember

Some of chance

And some of anticipation.

Some of love and some of relief while tucking in babies.

Most of desire and lust:

To get;

To be;

To have.

And now,

I distract myself from a girl’s dreams of ponies and wedding days,

Of spoon feeding beautiful babies,

Of houses, and husbands, and meetings.

The magic of fairies and the romance of kings and princesses.

Oh, I dare not to think too long on my freckled-faced ambitions,

Lest I come face to face with a woman

Aged and not interested in make-up or sleepovers.

No longer a woman preoccupied with children’s bedtime stories

And good tasting, but economic, meals to fill her husband’s hunger.

No.

In the dark of the night,

When all the switches are flipped to off

And I make my stiff-legged way up the stairs –

Aching back and clubbed feet like hams pounding the stairs,

I catch a glimpse of myself in the window

And see where I am headed regardless of bus or hearthstone.

1 comment
  1. leamuse said:

    Well said! I do remember those days. However, a decade later, I am having the best time of my life! It just keeps getting better and better… In fact, if there is such a thing as having too much fun, I am there. 🙂
    Bon courage,
    Léa

Leave a Reply

